No Niches & No Cliques

31 Dec

I’ve noticed over the past couple of years while creating my jewelry, that the one thing I have failed to do that I have seen others in my field do very well, is develop a niche.

Now don’t get me wrong. On the whole, I have no problems with this.  It is more of an observation than an issue I have interest in “fixing.”  And honestly, this is also a feeling I am very familiar with.

In high school I never belonged to any one particular clique, I was able to kind of flit from one group of peers to another. They all seemed to welcome me, but I never hung around any one group long enough to actually become a part of any of them. And actually I liked being able to dabble in the variety of people and personalities.

In college I spent the multiple years it took to get my general education courses completed, trying to decide on what to “major” in. I wanted to learn about a ton of different things. Lets see, I remember health and nutrition, parapsychology, psychology, sociology, teaching, leadership, business, marketing, and archaeology just to name a few. So, what did I end up deciding on? Nothing. I never decided and it’s one of the best decisions I never made. ;)

In my early thirties, I spent a year and a half working for 3 temp agencies. Although I did not go to work at the same location every day, I did manage to work full time doing a variety of admin jobs for a variety of different businesses.  I enjoyed learning how to do new things at each location before moving on to a whole new set of functions at another business. I also really enjoyed meeting new people on a regular basis.

So, my inability to find a niche seems to be a historical one for me. And Im starting to understand that it’s not an inability at all, but more of a preference. I guess it should be no different in a world that I get to completely design myself. Maybe it’s not so odd that I cant seem to find a niche in this jewelry world. I like everything I’ve come across so far. Leather work, metal stamping. beading, wire wrapping, etc.  I realize that the more techniques I learn the fewer techniques I will ever really master, but somehow that’s ok with me. I don’t feel the need to become a master as long as I am enjoying what I am doing and getting the opportunity to connect with and inspire as many people as I possibly can in a creative and welcoming environment.

So, although, I may not be able to pinpoint a “target” market because my jewelry has many different personalities, Im hoping that means my “market” will include people of many personalities and styles all with a common longing to connect, be connected, inspire and be inspired.

All My SeviBeau Love,

ConnieO

3 Responses to “No Niches & No Cliques”

  1. Linda O March 14, 2013 at 10:02 am #

    Don’t know how I missed this when you posted it, but sure am glad I saw it. Nice to know that you’re happy with the who you are! I know that I sure am!

  2. lucyflora January 3, 2013 at 10:01 pm #

    Brava! You articulated your long-held thoughts and beliefs beautifully, CO! You *get* and embrace yourself. Do you know how rare and spectacular that is? I do.

    I’m proud of and happy for you, Connie. Love you!

    Jude

    • sevibeau January 4, 2013 at 8:22 am #

      Thanks Jude!

Would love to hear your toughts. :)

