You Are My Best Friend

18 Feb

My Multiple Best FriendsHi! I’m Linda Oestreich, the February blogger for SeviBeau and the proud mom of the woman who owns and operates this small, but mighty, endeavor.

When Connie asked for bloggers, I immediately knew that I wanted to volunteer. SeviBeau is like nothing else I have ever known or heard about. SeviBeau is part hobby, part altruistic charity, part artistry, and a whole lot of love. I asked Connie if she had any thoughts about what I should write, and her response filled my heart. She said, “Mom, one of the things you did right in your life was to surround yourself with strong, powerful, heart-centered women friends. Why not write about them??” Indeed, why not? So, as you read this tribute to the wonderful women in my life, think about those people around you who bring you joy, who support you in ways you sometimes take for granted. Saying thank you from your heart is always welcomed. In that vein, let me first thank Connie and SeviBeau for giving me the chance to write about the women who have come into my life and stayed. This blog is my thank you to each of them:

I hope I never have to name one best friend. I have the riches of having a multitude of best friends. They come in all sizes and shapes and dispositions and I owe each of them a debt of gratitude for supporting me and loving me. Over the years, these women have given my life a variety of services and help—everything from helping to raise my daughter to helping me buy a house. They have loaned me money, helped me learn physics, babysat my child, listened to my rants, and wiped away my tears. The women in my life are my foundation. They hold me up and they touch my heart. They provide light, laughter, wisdom, and wit to my existence. They travel this life with me—sometimes on actual geographic trips—but mostly through talk and advice and a commingling of our life experiences. One of these women has been part of my life since I was 18; and one of them came into my life recently. Some of them are connected to me by career; some through geography; some through happenstance. Their ages are irrelevant because some are younger than Connie, and some are older than my mom would have been. And, sadly, a few have already made their transition to whatever lies beyond this life.

It fills me with emotion to remember how some of these women provided balance—not just to me, but to Connie, too. She often tells me that she believes she’s open minded because so many people helped raise her.  She was given the chance to experience so much that she never became biased into thinking that only one way or one type of person was the “right” one.

Many of the things I did when I was a young, single mom were not done consciously…in fact, for the most part, in those days I struggled through life completely unmindful of what I was doing. Nonetheless, the Universe gifted me with these women to make sure that both Connie and I came through the process–a process that is ongoing. Joyously, I continue to meet wonderful women and add them to my life. This tribute isn’t just for the women who have been in my life for years and years, but also for those who have newly arrived. Each holds a piece of my heart and mind, and each nurtures me uniquely. I am blessed to have had the pleasure and luxury of knowing and loving these women, and I am eternally grateful.

This blog is too short to hold individual stories of these wonderful women…but it does give me a way to thank them.  They are my rock. They have believed in me and been there through dark times and light. The beauty they have shared with me has been my lifeblood and I know it has also helped shaped my daughter. Trite or not, raising me from who I was into the person I am today took a village.  Yes, from time to time, men touched my life and played big parts in coaching and mentoring me…but as a rule, it was the women in my life…the beautiful, joyous, wonderful, sometimes bitchy, sometimes difficult, but always loving and connected women friends who held me up and walked beside me for these past 45-plus years.

This blog is a tribute to you, to my women friends…to each of you who was there for the love, for the humor, and for the long haul…thank you. You know who you are, and I hold you in my heart as treasures most dear. Your beauty has been my sustenance. You are my best friend.

6 Responses to “You Are My Best Friend”

  1. Cheryl April 6, 2013 at 9:00 am #

    and, thank you for your love, support, trust, honesty, and friendship throughout the years!

  2. Linda O February 21, 2013 at 12:06 am #

    I am honored to have been the first…

  3. Toni-Ann February 19, 2013 at 6:29 pm #

    This is a beautiful blog and makes me thing of all the women in my life that have also helped me thru some good, bad, horrific and wonderful times. Great job to you Linda!!! :o)

  4. sevibeau February 18, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

    Thank you to Linda Oestreich, my mom, for being this blogs first guest blogger! Thank you also for providing me with a wide array of beautiful women role models. I wouldn’t be the person I am today, without them!!!

  5. sevibeau February 21, 2013 at 1:27 am #

    Thanks Mom, I almost added a link back to your blog from mine but thought I better ask you first (it wasn’t a decent hour to be asking you though) I see you have taken care of it. You’ve already gotten some great compliments from from people that loved what you had to say. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blogging for my kid… | Linda O - February 21, 2013

    […] Here’s the link—have fun!   https://sevibeau.wordpress.com/2013/02/18/you-are-my-best-friend/ […]

Would love to hear your toughts. :)

