Every Woman’s Right

29 Aug

Im trying hard.

Im trying hard to be and FEEL sexy, vibrant and beautiful. I think every woman has this right, and even an obligation to pursue and feel these things for ourselves.

It makes me sad that so many women were not given permission to embrace these aspects of themselves due to the environments in which they were raised. It makes me sad that many women were taught to feel shame when it came to their beauty and their bodies, often due to the mortifying actions and behavior of family members or other people close to them that were supposed to be there to protect them and love them, in a way that built there self esteem and confidence, not in a way that tore it down. It makes me sad that society has somehow seemed to create a standardized test of what it means to be sexy and beautiful. And it really makes me sad that so many women have fell victim (including myself) to believe that this standardized test is the only way to accurately determine whether they are passing or failing.

I’m sad about these things, but there is a time to stop being sad and start getting mad. There is a time that we as women have to take back our control, despite whatever may have happened to us in our pasts and despite what “society” says about being sexy and beautiful! We ARE society… so as long as we believe it we are contributing to the problem. It’s time to take back our control and do whatever we can to build our confidence and self esteem.

As adults, we have the power to make changes that need to be made. We have the power to choose what we want to think about and what we want to focus on. I am in no way saying that this is EASY, Im just saying that it is within our control to do what needs to be done.

I wan’t to feel sexy. I want to feel vibrant and I want to feel beautiful. I’ve discovered the more I do for myself, the more healthy choices I make in fueling my body and the more effort I make in moving my body, the better I feel, physically AND mentally. I know this is no new equation. I know these methods have been used by hundreds of thousands of people with the positive results you would expect, BUT they have never fully been embraced by me AND I know there are still hundreds of thousands more out there that also struggle to embrace it.IMG_0636

I feel like I am finally on the right path. I am done being a wall flower, I am done hiding in the shadows, and I am done with the shame and regret.

IMG_0162IMG_0645

What I wish more than anything is that ANY women out there that are lacking confidence, not feeling sexy, or not feeling beautiful, stop and think about why. What is holding you back? What is keeping you from taking the steps to make yourself healthier a little at a time. This is not about weight, it’s not about how long, short or what color your hair is. This is about doing things for ourselves that honor our selves, that make us realize we are worth the time and the effort. This is about doing things that make us happy and listening to our inner desires. This is about self love.

No matter what or where we came from, we can always change it around… it doesn’t make the history go away, but what it can do is revitalize our souls. It’s time for some extreme love… extreme SELF love! As adults we are responsible for how we think and the actions we take today. There are no excuses, but what there IS is the ability to change our lives for the better, the ability to experience pride and accomplishment. It is time, it is up to us, and it is within our control to finally exercise our rights and fulfill the obligations we have to ourselves to feel sexy, vibrant and beautiful.

3 Responses to “Every Woman’s Right”

  1. Holly Writes the World September 16, 2013 at 10:01 pm #

    This one made me CRY! Oh, Connie! We have an obligation to feel sexy, vibrant, and beautiful… I have no words, absolutely no words.

    You continue to be an amazing gift to me. Thank you, God. Thank you, Linda. Thank you, Connie.

  2. Linda O August 29, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

    Life is hard…we each bring into it our pasts but we each also have choices to make on how we react to what we experience and how we’ll embrace our futures. Your journey is something I’ve witnessed since you were born. You’ve made a beautiful life for yourself and you keep getting better. This new page is the most difficult one you’ve ever tackled, yet I’m sure you’ll succeed because you have decided that you will. And, that brings me joy. You go, Girl!

  3. Cheryl August 29, 2013 at 9:44 am #

    I’ve always thought that you were beautiful, inside and outside!! I’m so pleased that you are finally recognizing your own beauty. You deserve to feel confident, good, and proud of yourself. Do not let go of this attitude, let nothing or no one stand in your way!! Love you always and unconditionally!!!!!

Would love to hear your toughts. :)

