Creative Altruistic Rebellion – Part 2

14 Aug

If you haven’t heard about the Crazily Unique Altruistic Jewelry Shop of Love, you will probably want to check out Creative Altruistic Rebellion – Part 1, before you continue reading. :)

So, although my original intention this week was to fill you in on how the Crazily Unique Altruistic Jewelry Shop of Love was rolling along and give you details about all the fun, behind the scene, stuff I have been working on, I have been inspired to go in a different direction.

CrazilyToday I want to tell you WHY I am doing this. Over the past few days, people have taken some actions that has really helped me realize a BIG part of my “why.” As most of you know by now, Robin Williams presumably committed suicide a couple of days ago, Then, on top of that, I read a friend’s post, mourning the life of a young girl who chose this same path to ease her pain.

Every time I hear of a suicide it remind me of my first experience with suicide. I was in junior high and had a crush on a cute boy that worked in the school library. Many times I looked for excuses to visit that library just to have the opportunity to say a few words to him while I checked out those books. Then one day I came to school and heard the news. In a blink of the eye, the boy I thought was so sweet, kind and charming was gone. It really broke my heart. It wasn’t something I could explain to anyone, because he was sort of my little secret. As sweet, kind and charming as he was, he was still the nerdy boy who worked in the library. And, although I didn’t see him as nerdy at all, I must have had the social instinct to know he wasn’t one of the boy’s other girls would relate to, and when you are 13 you sometimes think those things matter. So along with my heavy heart I had a ton of guilt. All I kept thinking over and over again was… what if he had known? Would admitting to him how I felt change the outcome of his decisions? Would knowing one little 7th grader was crushing on him, give him just a enough self-confidence to stick it out another day? Would the idea of a girl (any girl) liking him make him see something in himself that maybe he had not seen before? Those questions haunted me for a while, and I guess they kind of still do, because, like I said, he is the first person that comes to mind whenever I hear about a suicide.
quote bigger

So, without getting too far off topic, what I have realized is that my WHY is partially responsible for his and all the other heart wrenching suicides that have occurred day after day, month after month, and year after year. As an adult, I understand that depression, and other reasons for suicide, are usually much more deep seeded than what the admission of a teenage crush can fix, but that doesn’t stop me from also knowing, in my heart of hearts, that sometimes it DOES help to know when other people value us. I guess SeviBeau’s Embrace (which is what the program will be called) is my way of helping people do that. We need a world where we are not afraid to share our love, respect or admiration for others. We need a world that recognizes the triumphs AND tribulations of others from a supportive and loving place. It needs to become a common action. There is way too much pain and suffering in this world and this program is my way of helping the public demonstrate love, support and appreciation for one another. So, all that being said, I really hope that you challenge yourself to reach out to someone you care about in this unique and heartfelt way. Let them know what they mean to you. Tell them how they have positively affected your life, Acknowledge them for being the wonderful person they are. It’s a small action that can make a huge impact.

The virtual doors open on September 1, 2014, but you can sign up now so you get all the latest news on this amazing program.

Please leave a comment below or ask any questions you may have. SeviBeau’s Embrace is meant to be for the community, so we might as well start getting to know each other now. ;)

ConnieO

2 Responses to “Creative Altruistic Rebellion – Part 2”

  1. Pennie Alarcon August 16, 2014 at 10:25 am #

    You are a truly amazing lady!! If anyone in this crazy world can make a difference, it’s you!! AND the name is perfect!! Big hugs!!

  2. Linda Oestreich August 15, 2014 at 9:57 am #

    Thank you, Connie. For having the courage to make a difference.

Would love to hear your toughts. :)

